ICANM 2013: International Conference & Exhibition
 on Advanced & Nano Materials

       ICANM2013: Conférence et Exposition internationale
                      sur les matériaux avancés et Nan

August/août 12-14,2013 , Quebec (QC) Canada

Keynote Lectures

Dr. Levan Chkhartishviliis a Professor in the Department of Physics, Faculty of Informatics & Control Systems, Georgian Technical University. He has more than 150 scientific publications dedicated to the space and electronic structures of bulk and nanoscale dielectrics and semiconductors (boron, boron nitride, silicon, germanium, gallium arsenide, and gallium nitride) and their electronic properties as well nano-systems and isotopic effects in solids; among them 2 monographs, 5 inventions and papers in journals. He is member of the Editorial Board of the American Journal of Materials Science and  Editorial Board of the European Chemical Bulletin.

Dr. Toyohisa Fujita is a Professor in the Department of Systems Innovation, Graduate School of Engineering, and a faculty member of the energy and environment course of The University of Tokyo, Japan. Prof. Fujita obtained his PhD from Tohoku University. From 1998 to 2003, he was a Professor at Akita University. He was a visiting fellow at The University of Minnesota; and visiting Professor at St. Cloud State University in USA and Tohoku University in Japan. From 2005 to 2009, Prof. Fujita was the president of the Resources Processing Society of Japan. He has received more than 20 awards, submitted over 300 publications, and registered about 50 patents.


International Academy of

Energy, Minerals & Materials


Dr. Jas Pal Badyal is a Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Durham University, UK. Professor Badyal obtained his BA/MA and PhD degrees from Cambridge University; where he subsequently held the Oppenheimer Fellowship. In 1989 he moved to Durham University to take up a lectureship and was promoted to Full Professor in 1996. He is named as the primary author / inventor on 161 refereed research publications / 37 patent families, and has delivered 59 plenary / invited lectures at international conferences. He has been recipient of many honours relating to his work on Functional Surfaces, including the Harrison Prize from The Royal Society of Chemistry; the Burch Prize from The British Vacuum Council; and the IAAM Medal (International Association of Advanced Materials) for 'Outstanding and notable contribution in the field of Nanomaterials and Nanotechnology'. His research has led to 3 successful start-up companies: Surface Innovations Ltd; Dow Corning Plasma Ltd; and P2i Ltd (2011 International Business Award for 'Most Innovative Company in Europe').


Dr. Anna RITCEY completed a B.Sc. degree in Chemistry in 1982 at Acadia University, Nova Scotia, Canada. She received a Ph.D. in Chemistry from McGill University, Montreal, in 1988 before accepting a postdoctoral position at the Max-Planck-Institute for Polymer Research in Mainz, Germany. In 1991, she joined Laval University, where she holds her current position as Professor of Chemistry and is a member of both the Centre for Advanced Materials (CERMA) and the Center for Optics, Photonics and Lasers (COPL). Her main research activities focus on new materials for optical applications, including functional nanoparticles and controlled interfaces.


Holder of the Canada Research Chair in Biomaterials and Bioengineering for the Innovation in Surgery, professor at the Department of Materials Engineering at Laval University, scientist at the University Hospital Research Center, Diego Mantovani is a recognised specialist in biomaterials. At the frontier between engineering, medicine and biology, within his team, his works aim to improve the clinical performances of medical devices for functional replacement, and to envisage the next generations of biomaterials to develop artificial organs enhancing the quality of the life of patients. He has authored more than 130 original articles, holds 4 patents, and presented more than 80 keynotes, invited and seminar lectures worldwide in the field of advanced materials for biomedical applications. In 2012, he was nominated Fellow of the International Union of Societies for Biomaterials Science & Engineering (FBSE) for his leadership and contribution to biomaterials for medical devices..


Dr. Josée Brisson received her PhD degree in X-ray crystallography of polymers from Université de Montréal, and studied electron diffraction of amylose complexes during a postdoc at the Centre de recherche sur les macromolécules végétales, CERMAV (CNRS) in Grenoble, France. She is now full professor in the Department of Chemistry of Université Laval, and is a member of the CERMA (Centre de recherche sur les matériaux avancés) and of the CQMF (Centre de recherché sur les matériaux fonctionnels). Her current research interests include orientation and crystallization of polymers, and polymers for membrane fabrication.


Dr. Fathi Habashi is the author of more than 50 books, 75 research papers, 120 book review, 4 patents and over 200 trip reports. Professor emeritus  at Laval University in Quebec City,  He holds a B.Sc. degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Cairo, a Dr. techn. degree in Inorganic Chemical Technology from the University of Technology in Vienna, and honorary degrees from the Technical University of Oruro in Bolivia, the Saint Petersburg Mining Institute in Russia, and the National University of Engineering in Lima, Peru. He is a Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy, and Petroleum, and was holder of the Canadian Government Scholarship in Ottawa (1960-62). He taught at Montana School of Mines, worked at the Extractive Metallurgical Research Department of Anaconda Company in Tucson, Arizona before joining Laval in 1970. He was guest professor at a number of foreign universities, a guest lecturer at a number of institutions, and consultant to the United Nations Development Program for the Cuban Laterite Project. He authored Principles of Extractive Metallurgy in 4 volumes and edited Handbook of Extractive Metallurgy in 4 volumes.